Gallery

Baked Orzo with Tomato, Eggplant, and Mozzarella

IMG_5900If you’re anything like me, fall & winter are the time for casseroles that you can eat for days. Especially during the holiday season when you need a break.  This is the perfect delicious break. That includes leftovers that I actually care to eat.  I’m sure you will too.

IMG_5901 IMG_5904

Since first trying this recipe, I’ve found it’s simple enough to pull together on a weeknight, or to prepare over the weekend for lunches or dinners during the week. (I also slide that skillet right into the oven when not trying to make it exceptionally pretty, cutting down on dishes).

IMG_5906

IMG_5905

The only real issue I have with this recipe is it’s name.  It is exactly what is described, but I also think it’s so long, and names practically all the ingredients.  Alas, I’m not feeling creative enough to re-name it.

IMG_5909

IMG_5912

I came across this on smitten kitchen as an adaptation of a Yotam Ottolenghi recipe. Neither have really ever steered me wrong, and this is no exception.

IMG_5916

I’ve also found I side with Yotam Ottolenghi here, and prefer more carrot and celery, in particular, than just one.  Adjust as you see fit.

IMG_5917

Treat yourself to an easy dinner to feed many or many times.

IMG_5920

Recipe on smittenkitchen blog here: http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2012/09/baked-orzo-with-eggplant-and-mozzarella/

IMG_5924

One response to “Baked Orzo with Tomato, Eggplant, and Mozzarella

  1. eggplantomorzorella. BOOM.

Leave a Reply

