Gallery

What’s New Years without Champagne?

Okay, folks.  We’re starting small.  Bear with me.

My new years day was filled with good friends and food, so I didn’t exactly dive into this project day one.  But, I figured what better day than today to share my favorite vinaigrette ingredient: champagne vinegar.

IMG_5021    IMG_5029

I really don’t think I could tell you exactly what recipe I came across that called for champagne vinegar, but it’s my go-to for simple salad dressings.  It’s not as acidic as white vinegar, not as cider-y as cider vinegar, and generally just perfect for a dressing on the sweeter side.

IMG_5022

After endless indulgence of the holidays, a simple and fresh salad was the perfect way to ring in the new year.  Mixed greens with a few fixings, including FireFly Farms’ Merry Goat Round (a market favorite of mine), and a fig vinaigrette.

As I said, simple. Nothing new to me. But I have big plans for the weekend. Promise.

IMG_5027

Mixed Greens with Fig Vinaigrette

1 tsp olive oil
1 tsp champagne vinegar
1/2 tsp fig spread (I use Dalmatia Fig Spread found at Whole Foods, and other groceries)
Salt & Pepper to taste
2 cups mixed greens
1 Tbsp dried cranberries, chopped
1 Tbsp walnuts, toasted & chopped
1/2 oz of goat cheese

Combine oil, vinegar, fig spread, salt & pepper in a small jar.  Cover & shake vigorously to combine well.  Dress the greens, sprinkle with cranberries, nuts & cheese.

Enjoy the rest of your evening, satisfied that you didn’t order in. This was easier on the wallet & faster.

Leave a comment